[Date Prev][Date Next][Thread Prev][Thread Next][Date Index][Thread Index]
RE: computer-go: transpositions (less unclear?)
A little update about my 4-move cycle example:
Under Japanese rules Black cannot make an endless cycle because (dixit Andre
Engels):
In the 4-move cycle black plays 2 stones (which get captured),
white only one. Because Japanese rules use territory counting, this costs
black one point. After some (finite) number of cycles have been played,
white
can simply admit black's claim that the white group is dead, and still have
enough points to win.
|. . . . . . .
|. . . . . . .
7 |O O O . . . .
6 |X X O . . . . Lower left corner of the board.
5 |. X O . . . . Outer stones alive.
4 |X X O X X . . Black (X) to play.
3 |O X X O X . .
2 |. O O O X . .
1 |. O . O X . .
+-------------
A B C D E
Black captures a stone and gets a seki.
Regards,
Jean-Pierre